Schedule for Success

Standard

First of all I must say how proud I am of my wonderful son and myself. I have tried for several years to become the organized super Mom  once was. I have felt baffled about how I was once able to accomplish so much and was so proficient at getting everything done. I have read self help books, tried in vain to get organized and yet nothing worked.

You see I used to wake up on time in the morning, get dressed,  get Jeremy ready for daycare, drop him off, be at work early, work late, pick Jeremy up, cook dinner, do my school work and somehow managed to make all A’s in my classes. Now the thought of all of that is exhausting. That is until recently.

Jeremy just started 4th grade and I was a little nervous about getting him back on a routine.  After a summer filled with late nights and sleeping in I did not know how I was going to get him to go to bed at a reasonable time.  I knew that I had to though so that he could be successful in school and so I could attempt to get back to the old me.

The night before the first day of school I made sure he was ready with all of the necessary supplies,  his new outfit and a delicious lunch packed so all he had to do was grab it. I had him in bed watching TV at 7:30 pm. I let him watch TV for an hour and at 8:30 sharp the TV and lights were turned off. To my surprise he was asleep by 9 pm! Our alarm was set for 6 am and we both woke up. Jeremy and I both got up, got dressed and headed out the door ON TIME!!!

This was a small victory, but it felt like a major win. The next night we went by the same routine and it happened again. We were on time and both felt great.

This has carried over to other parts of my life. I am now working on scheduling my time during the day better. I realize a well planned schedule was what my life was missing. It is so much easier to get everything done when you have a daily routine that works.

Friends and family appreciate my new found time management skills. I am able to tell them when I will have time for them and enjoy the time we are together. I am not constantly worried that I am not going to have enough time to get everything done, because I have a plan.

Leave a Reply

