The Only Child Feeling…

Standard

I grew up as an only child, like about 20% of US children today. One thing that I remember the most was the feeling that I got when I returned home from a friend’s house. It was a lonely sinking feeling.

I could never explain it to my parents who both grew up with siblings. Everyone feels lonely sometimes, but this is a different type of lonely. It is a sad sort of depressed feeling. It is a feeling that is very hard to overcome.

The funny thing is when I started to feel this way I did not want to do anything or even be around anyone. I didn’t want to sleep either. Nothing seemed to make that feeling go away. I just had to wait it out.

Well, that feeling is back tonight. I do not know why. All of the sudden, that sad feeling just descended on me. It is a feeling that I can feel physically. Almost a pain in my chest. I do not want to cry, but then again I do not want to do anything else either.

I guess I will make my mission for tonight to find a cure for the “only child feeling”. Hopefully, I can find a “cure”, because this feeling is enough to drive someone bonkers.

Leave a Reply

